Quoter pricing, features and alternatives

Quoter is worth buying when reps still build quotes by hand and your catalog is simple, and its pricing model is the reason: $299, $449 or $599 a month by published quote volume, with unlimited users on every plan. ScalePad acquired it in October 2023 and sells it as ScalePad Quoter. The thing the monthly invoice hides is a 12-month term, so Standard is a $3,588 commitment plus a one-time activation fee.

By·LinkedIn·Editorial Lead·Reviewed ·Pricing checked against ScalePad's Quoter pricing page·How we review software

The short answer

Buy Quoter if quotes are assembled by hand in documents or spreadsheets today, your catalog and pricing rules are straightforward, and you want quoting live without hiring a CPQ admin. Because cost tracks quote volume rather than headcount, it gets cheaper per rep as the team grows: ten reps publishing about seven quotes each a month fit Standard at 12 x $299 = $3,588 a year, which is roughly $30 per rep per month.

Skip it if your products need real configuration logic, if approvals pass through several finance or deal desk layers, or if you need governance across many regions and price books. Those are jobs for a full CPQ, and DealHub or Oracle CPQ are the shape of answer. Skip it too if you publish far more quotes than your plan's cap, because volume, not seats, is what moves you up a tier.

Where Quoter fits

Quoter is quoting software built for managed service providers, IT resellers and other small and mid-sized businesses. The aim is a shorter path from proposal to signature without the build effort of an enterprise CPQ rollout. ScalePad acquired Quoter in October 2023, per ScalePad's announcement, and quoter.com/pricing now redirects to ScalePad's site, so you are buying from ScalePad and should expect ScalePad's commercial terms and roadmap rather than the independent product's.

The pricing model shapes the fit more than any feature does. Quoter does not charge per seat: every plan includes unlimited users, and the tier is set by how many quotes you publish each month. That inverts the usual calculation. Adding reps, finance reviewers or managers costs nothing, while a seasonal spike in quoting volume costs real money. If your headcount is growing faster than your quote count, this model is in your favour. If you quote constantly on small deals, it is not.

Reps build quotes from a product catalog, so the test during evaluation is how quickly a new rep produces an accurate quote from your real price list, not from the demo data. The second test is the handoff: confirm how discount approvals work, how customers accept and sign, and what happens to the record afterwards. Every plan includes the same core set, including e-signature, approvals, contract management, SSO, the ScalePad API, and CRM, PSA, distributor and accounting integrations, so check which fields sync and whether an accepted quote creates records automatically rather than assuming the integration is a two-way one.

Enterprise is the tier that changes what the product does rather than how much of it you get, adding multi-tenant support and workflows for resellers quoting on behalf of their own clients. If you are an MSP with managed customers, that is the tier to price, regardless of your volume.

Public review data on Quoter is thin, which is the honest caveat on everything above. With a 12-month term and little third-party evidence, references from companies with a similar catalog size do more work here than reviews do. Quoter sits with the lighter options in our CPQ software comparison guide.

Quoter pricing

Per ScalePad's Quoter pricing page, there are three plans priced by monthly published quote volume rather than by seat: Standard at $299 a month for 75 quotes, Pro at $449 for 150, and Enterprise at $599 for 250. Every plan includes unlimited users and the same core feature set. The figures here come from our September 2026 check, and the one number the pricing page does not state is the activation fee, which is covered below.

Plans and quote limits

Standard
$299/mo. 75 published quotes a month, unlimited users, and the full feature set including CRM, PSA, distributor and accounting integrations.
Pro
$449/mo. 150 published quotes a month, unlimited users, same feature set as Standard.
Enterprise
$599/mo. 250 published quotes a month, unlimited users, and adds multi-tenant support and workflows for resellers quoting for their own clients.
Activation (one-time)
A fee applies for guided onboarding. Quoter's own onboarding article lists $495, but the current pricing page does not state an amount, so get your number in writing.

What ten reps cost

Seat count does not change the bill, so start from quote volume instead. If ten reps publish about seven new quotes a month each, 70 in total, Standard fits: 12 x $299 = $3,588 a year, which is about $30 per rep per month. At 15 quotes per rep, 150 in total, you need Pro: 12 x $449 = $5,388 a year. Above 250 quotes a month you are on Enterprise at $599, which is 12 x $599 = $7,188 a year and is also the tier that adds multi-tenant support and reseller workflows. Count published quotes from last quarter before you pick, because that number, not your headcount, is the one you are buying against.

Then add the two costs that are easy to miss. ScalePad bills monthly but on a 12-month term, so Standard is a $3,588 commitment whatever the invoice says, and there is a one-time activation fee for guided onboarding: Quoter's onboarding article lists it at $495, which would put first-year Standard spend at $3,588 + $495 = $4,083. The current pricing page does not state that amount, so treat $495 as an indication and get the real figure before you sign. When you hit the monthly quote cap you can still draft and revise, but new quotes wait for the reset or an upgrade, which is a mid-quarter problem rather than a budgeting one. ScalePad charges no transaction fee on payments, though your processor, whether Stripe, Authorize.net or PayPal, will.

The practical sequence is to count last quarter's published quotes, add the activation fee to year one, and compare the total against the hours your reps spend assembling quotes by hand. Our CPQ RFP template covers the questions a lighter tool usually fails on, and how we review software sets out what we verify and what we leave to you.

What Quoter gives up

You give up configuration depth. Lighter tools hit their limits on complex product rules and multi-step approvals, and a quoting tool for MSPs is not going to model a configurable industrial product. Build your most complicated real quote in a demo or sandbox before the 12-month term starts, because that is the point at which the limit shows up.

You give up monthly flexibility. Billing arrives monthly but the term is annual, so Standard is a $3,588 commitment and the activation fee sits on top of it in year one. That is a different decision from a month-to-month tool you can switch off.

You give up headroom on volume. The cap is the product boundary: pass it and new quotes wait for the reset or an upgrade. Seasonal businesses should price the peak month, not the average one.

You give up third-party evidence. Little public review data exists, so the pilot and customer references carry the whole weight of the decision. Ask ScalePad for references with a catalog the size of yours.

You give up an independent vendor. Quoter is now part of ScalePad's MSP suite, which is an advantage if you already run ScalePad and a dependency if you do not. Ask where Quoter sits in ScalePad's roadmap before you commit to a year.

How Quoter compares

The useful way to sort this shortlist is by what you are paying for. Quoter sells quote volume with unlimited users, QuoteWerks sells concurrent licenses, and PandaDoc CPQ, Qwilr and iQuoteXpress sell seats. That changes the answer as your team shape changes: a ten-person team where everyone quotes occasionally is cheapest on Quoter, while four people quoting constantly out of a twenty-person company is cheapest on concurrent licensing. DealHub is the one that sits a class above, with real configuration logic and a quote instead of a rate. Every figure below comes from the named product's own pricing in our September 2026 check.

ToolBest forPriceWhere it breaks
QuoterMSBs and MSPs with simple catalogs and more quoters than quotes$299 to $599/mo by quote volume, unlimited users; 12-month termConfiguration depth, layered approvals, and any month that passes the quote cap
QuoteWerksIT resellers quoting long hardware and software lists$45.83 to $93.50/concurrent user/mo on an annual contractYou manage more of the deployment, and licenses lock people out at peak concurrency
PandaDoc CPQTeams that want quoting and document signing in one tool$19 to $49/user/mo on annual billing, with the CPQ workflows add-on quotedPriced per seat, so the bill grows with headcount rather than with quote volume
QwilrProposal-led selling where the document itself helps close$35/user/mo on annual billing, then $275 and $750/mo plan tiersProposal-centric rather than a quoting engine, and Salesforce needs the top tier
iQuoteXpressSmaller reseller quoting teams wanting a published per-user rate$39 to $74/user/mo, plus a one-time setup feePer-seat pricing and a setup fee, so cost rises with every rep you add

What to test in a Quoter trial

No free plan is listed, and ScalePad's pricing page routes buyers to a demo rather than a self-serve trial, so ask directly whether a sandbox is available. Whatever you get, run it on your real price list and a week of real quotes: the whole question with a lighter tool is what happens at the edges of your catalog, and sample data has no edges.

  1. Build your most complex real quote and note every workaround you needed. One workaround is a quirk, three is the wrong product.
  2. Pull the number of quotes you published each month last quarter, including the peak month, and map it to Standard at 75, Pro at 150 or Enterprise at 250. Buy for the peak if your business is seasonal.
  3. Ask for the exact activation fee for your account in writing, and what onboarding it covers, since the pricing page does not state it.
  4. Configure your real discount approval path and test a quote that needs two approvals. Confirm what the customer sees while it waits.
  5. Connect your CRM and accounting systems, then accept a test quote and check which records appear on the other side and which fields sync back. Our quote to cash process checklist is the list to work through here.
  6. Confirm whether you need Enterprise for multi-tenant and reseller workflows before pricing anything else, because that is a feature decision rather than a volume one.
  7. Ask ScalePad to connect you with customers who have a similar catalog size, and ask them what broke in month three.

Quoter questions buyers ask

What is Quoter used for?

Creating and sending quotes quickly and moving them to signature, mainly for small and mid-sized businesses.

How much does Quoter cost?

Per ScalePad's pricing page, Quoter costs $299/month (Standard, 75 published quotes), $449/month (Pro, 150 quotes), or $599/month (Enterprise, 250 quotes). Every plan includes unlimited users, and billing is monthly on a 12-month term, so Standard works out to $3,588 a year before a one-time activation fee.

Does Quoter have a free plan or free trial?

No free plan is listed. ScalePad's Quoter pricing page shows only the three paid plans and routes buyers to a demo instead of a self-serve trial. Ask ScalePad whether a trial or sandbox is available and test it with your actual products and pricing.

Does Quoter charge per user?

No. Per ScalePad's pricing page, all Quoter plans include unlimited users. Price rises only with monthly published quote volume, so adding reps, finance, or managers costs nothing extra.

Who owns Quoter?

ScalePad, a software company for MSPs, acquired Quoter in October 2023, according to ScalePad's announcement. The product is now sold as ScalePad Quoter.

Who are the main competitors to Quoter?

PandaDoc CPQ, Qwilr, and QuoteWerks are common comparisons for SMB quoting.

Is Quoter worth the cost?

It is worth it if manual quoting is slowing deals and your catalog is simple. Because pricing is flat per plan with unlimited users, it gets cheaper per rep as the team grows, as long as quote volume stays under your plan's cap. Validate fit in a demo first.

What is the best sales quoting software?

It depends on what you are paying for. Quoter suits teams with more quoters than quotes, since every plan has unlimited users and the tier is set by quote volume. QuoteWerks suits resellers with long hardware catalogs, PandaDoc CPQ suits quoting plus signing, and DealHub suits real configuration logic.